mywayortheiweigh

My journey through weight loss. This time, we're doing it my way!!

June.2.2012 June 2, 2012

Filed under: Thoughts and Things... — ladyashton @ 5:31 am

Yup, that’s pretty much what our juice looked like!

 

Wow. June already? I can hardly believe it!

We had friends come over last night for what I like to call “Charades and Shenanigans.” Of course, food had to be made which meant my raw eating was put on hold for a day. I made only vegan fare, though, which included the following:

Red Lentil Thai Chili

Vegan Cornbread

Whole Wheat Fig Bars

Mango-Lime Bean Salad

The first three recipes are from one of my favorite websites, Post Punk Kitchen. It’s an exclusively vegan website and it is divine! I have tried many recipes from this site and they have always turned out tasty and om-nom-nomable. The mango salad comes from Dr. Esselstyn’s website on how to prevent and reverse heart disease. He’s one of the doctors featured in Forks over Knives.

Unfortunately, methinks I may have succumbed to the allure of some of the *ahem* libations that were present. Oh, my aching head!! It was back to raw eating this morning, that’s for sure!

I also used our new juicer for the first time! Yay me!! We used half a head of bok choy, two apples, a bunch of baby carrots (memo to myself: pick up some regular sized carrots), and five mini cucumbers (trust me, these are nowhere near the size of the ones in Canada!). Once we juiced everything, we scooped out the pulp and juiced that two more times. In essence, everything went through the juicer three times. It wasn’t as sweet as I thought it would be (must be the bok choy), but it was good. We’ll have to play around with various fruits and veggies to see what suits us best.

For lunch today I enjoyed some leftover mango salad…even better the following day! The flavors have really melded together. Better still, it’s raw!!

I do think I will go for a run tomorrow morning. I just want to see how I feel. I’ve been stretching my foot a few times a day using that video I found on YouTube. Wish me luck! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

